WHITMAN-HANSON REGIONAL SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING Minutes of May 20, 2019 Reorganization meeting Held at the Whitman-Hanson Regional High School 600 Franklin Street, Whitman MA

Meeting convened:	6:00 p.m.
Meeting adjourned:	6:37 p.m.
Members present:	Robert Hayes, Frederick Small, Robert O'Brien, Jr., Christopher Scriven, Christopher Howard, and Michael Jones Alexandria Taylor, Dawn Byers, Steve Bois (arrived at 6:13 p.m.) and Daniel Cullity (arrived at 6:15 p.m.)
Members absent:	None
Administrators present:	Jeffrey Szymaniak, Superintendent of Schools George M. Ferro, Jr., Assistant Superintendent of Schools

Jeffrey Szymaniak, Superintendent of Schools, convened the meeting at 6:00 p.m. in order to re-organize the School Committee.

Mr. Szymaniak noted the School Committee meeting was being recorded and broadcast live.

Mr. Szymaniak reported on the town election results held Saturday, May 18, 2019 and welcomed the newest School Committee member, Mrs. Dawn Byers.

SCHOOL COMMITTEE REORGANIZATION VOTES

Mr. Szymaniak asked for nominations for the **Chair** of the School Committee. Mr. Hayes was nominated. Mr. Szymaniak asked for any other nominations for Chair. Mr. Szymaniak closed nominations.

<u>VOTE</u>: Mr. Hayes was nominated by Mr. Small for the position of Chair. Mr. O'Brien seconded the nomination. By roll call vote of the Committee Mr. Hayes was re-elected Chair of the 2019-20 SY Whitman-Hanson Regional School Committee. The motion passed unanimously

Chairman Hayes conducted the remaining nominations to organize the Committee.

Chair Hayes asked for nominations for Vice Chair. Mr. Cullity and Mr. Scriven were nominated. Chair Hayes asked for any other nominations for Vice Chair. Chair Hayes closed nominations.

<u>VOTE</u>: Mr. Cullity was nominated by Mr. Small for the position of Vice Chair. Mr. O'Brien seconded the nomination. By roll call vote of the Committee the nomination for Mr. Cullity did not pass by roll call 2-6-0.

<u>VOTE</u>: Mr. Scriven was nominated by Mr. O'Brien for the position of Vice Chair. Mr. Jones seconded the nomination. By roll call vote of the Committee Mr. Scriven was elected Vice Chair of the 2019-20 SY Whitman-Hanson Regional School Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Hayes asked for nominations for **Treasurer**. Mr. Howard was nominated. Chair Hayes asked for any other nominations for Treasurer. Chair Hayes closed nominations.

<u>VOTE</u>: Mr. Howard was nominated by Mr. O'Brien for the position of Treasurer. Mr. Scriven seconded the nomination. By roll call vote of the Committee Mr. Howard was elected Treasurer of the 2019-20 SY Whitman-Hanson Regional School Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Hayes asked for nominations for **Assistant Treasurer**. Mrs. Taylor was nominated Chair Hayes asked for any other nominations for Assistant Chair. Chair Hayes closed nominations.

<u>VOTE</u>: Mrs. Taylor was nominated by Mr. Small for the position of Assistant Treasurer. Mr. O'Brien seconded the nomination. By roll call vote of the Committee Mrs. Taylor was elected Assistant Treasurer of the 2019-20 SY Whitman-Hanson Regional School Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Hayes asked for nominations for **Secretary**. Chair Hayes asked for any other nominations for Secretary. Chair Hayes closed nominations.

<u>VOTE</u>: Mr. Small was nominated by Mr. O'Brien for the position of Secretary. Mr. Jones seconded the nomination. By roll call vote of the Committee Mr. Small was re-elected Secretary of the 2019-20 SY Whitman-Hanson Regional School Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

Sub-Committee Assignments/Legislative Representatives

The subcommittee for warrant signings will be determined after deliberation of the Warrant Signing agenda item.

Facilities and Capital Projects Sub-Committee Christopher Scriven, Fred Small, Mike Jones and Robert O'Brien were appointed to the Facilities and Capital Projects Subcommittee.

Policy Subcommittee Christopher Howard, Alexandria Taylor and Fred Small were appointed to the Policy Subcommittee.

Legislative Representative

Fred Small was re-appointed as the Legislative Representatives.

Collaborative Representative: Pilgrim Area Collaborative Steve Bois was re-appointed as the Pilgrim Area Collaborate representative.

MASC/MASS Joint Conference Delegate/Alternate

Christopher Howard was appointed as the MASC/MASS Joint Conference voting delegate. Dawn Byers was appointed as the MASC/Mass Joint Conference voting alternate.

State Mandates/Auditor's Office

Mr. Fred Small reported he has arranged for Mr. Ben Tofoya, Director of the Division of Local Mandates, Office of State Auditor Suzanne Bump to explain the active and inactive state mandates, how they affect education and answer the questions and concerns of the Committee at their next meeting on June 12, 2019.

Warrant Signing

Chair Hayes informed the Committee of House Bill 271 which passed on January 10, 2019. This new legislation now allows regional school district school committees to designate one of its members to sign payroll warrants and accounts payable warrants. Currently, the Whitman-Hanson Regional School

Committee has three members of the Committee sign to approve warrants. The Committee deliberated the benefits of three members reviewing and signing all warrants as opposed to only one designee. They discussed availability and responsibility of only one designee. Mr. Bois volunteered to be the warrant signing designee; however, the general consensus was not to adopt one designee to sign warrants. A Warrant Subcommittee was then established.

<u>VOTE</u>: Mr. O'Brien motioned; Mr. Small seconded; to make no change to the current method of warrant signings by three member signatures. The motion passed unanimously.

Warrant Subcommittee

Robert O'Brien, Dawn Byers and Steve Bois were appointed to the Warrant Subcommittee.

The next School Committee meeting will be held on June 12, 2019.

The Committee determined a budget subcommittee would not be formed and that all School Committee members will be part of budget discussions. Chair Hayes was open to having a one item agenda for budget discussion meetings in the future. The Superintendent added that school district capital items for the Town of Whitman remain open until the June 17 Special Town Meeting. On behalf of the School Committee, the Superintendent will invite town officials to the upcoming meeting on June 12 for continued budgetary discussion. The discussion will include the anticipated fall override in Whitman, the FY2021 operational school district budget and state mandates.

The Superintendent will prepare information for the Committee at the end of the summer months to reinstate and/or restore programs and funding cut from the FY2020 budget, as requested by Mr. Jones. At that time in August, the books are closed and the final Excess & Deficiency (E&D) account is determined. There will be a clearer projection of the budget status. The Superintendent also reported the Performing Arts Center HVAC unit has failed again. Although the replacement has been listed on the capital projects list for two years (at \$100,000) an emergency repair is necessary at a cost of \$20,000. Mr. Small indicated that the legislature reportedly will release a FY2019 supplemental budget that may impact capital needs of the district through a security grant.

Meeting Adjournment

<u>VOTE</u>: Mr. Small motioned; Mr. Bois seconded; voted to adjourn the meeting at 6:37 p.m. the motion passed unanimously.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Michelle Lindberg

Signature of School Committee Secretary

Meeting Handouts:

- Meeting agenda for May 20, 2019
- School Committee Meeting Schedule 2019-20 SY